In the News

Governor Murphy Announces Nine Communities Selected to Receive Innovation Challenge Planning Funds

September 13, 2018 |

Governor Phil Murphy today announced that the New Jersey Economic Development Authority (EDA) will award $100,000 each to nine communities to advance plans to strengthen their local innovation ecosystems through the pilot round of the Innovation Challenge. The nine communities receiving awards for their planning proposals are: the City of Bridgeton, the City of New Brunswick, Passaic County, the City of Trenton, Atlantic County, the City of Atlantic City, Camden County, Union Township, and Monmouth County.

“Communities across New Jersey responded to this challenge with a clear commitment to spurring innovation in their local ecosystems,” said Governor Murphy. “From the installation of a high-speed 5G fiber network to the creation of a collaborative research-driven incubator and maker’s campus, these plans will help further New Jersey’s ability to compete and win in the 21st century economy.”

City of New Brunswick

The City of New Brunswick, together with its higher education partner and strategic partners, has established the parameters of a project to address two significant issues as part of its overall Innovation Initiative which it sees as essential components to growing the local innovation economy. First, the Center for Advanced Infrastructure & Technology (CAIT) at Rutgers University will direct a project focused on improving mobility through universal connectivity. Second, the partnership will work with an architect and lab planner to design a prototype Lab of the Future for start-up companies that require the availability of flexible lab spaces.



120 Albany Street Tower 1 7th floor, New Brunswick, NJ 08901

t: 732.249.2220

f: 732.249.4671

© 2023 All rights reserved.